A Lancaster manhole cover and a green infrastructure story

Posted: August 22, 2012 in manhole covers
Tags: , , , ,

I’m sure that Lancaster has more than one type of manhole cover, but this is the only picture I have.

On a related note: As an old city (by American standards), Lancaster has a a combined sewer system and a stormwater overflow problem it is trying to solve with residents’ help.  This short video highlights the city’s efforts to implement green infrastructure– green roofs, porous pavements, expanded tree canopy, and the like: http://www.saveitlancaster.com/whats-new/

Photo credit: ATS

Comments
  1. Drainspotter says:

    Hello, Adriana,
    I’m glad I stumbled over your blog and just added it to my blogroll. I run manholecovers.de and post a manholecover photo or a related topic each day, sometimes about the industrial history behind the cover, for example. I did not find a contact option around here; if you would like to exchange some content you are very welcome to contact me.

  2. Lois says:

    I guess this isn’t Lancaster in Lancashire, England? Lovely manhole!

  3. I like to extend some more lines on the description of manhole covers.

Leave a Reply

